SimplyMEPIS 6.0 Vs. Kubuntu Dapper

SimplyMEPIS 6.0 is released.
I think It would pose a quality competition to the Kubuntu Dapper Distribution. The Kubuntu distribution is qualitatively not on par with the corresponding Ubuntu Dapper (GNome Based). The Current SimplyMEPIS release is based on Dapper Repositories and is KDE Based.

It would be interesting to see how the Kubuntu improves with the future Edgy release.

Posted in Ubuntu. 1 Comment »

One Response to “SimplyMEPIS 6.0 Vs. Kubuntu Dapper”

  1. Brent Says:

    I will also be interested to know. I will probably download Mepis 6.0 and test it out on my old test machine, just for fun this weekend.

    I am interested in KDE somewhat, although I love Gnome. My experiences with Kubuntu (Hoary Hedgehog) were fun yet sometimes irritating. KDE seemed to crash a lot on me. Perhaps it was due to my ultra customizations, but still. Gnome never, ever crashes on me, never.

    Mepis, on the other hand, seems like a curious thought, if not just for fun, or for a possible dual boot configuration in the future.

    This is where test machines come in very handy.

    I’ve been surfing for reviews thus far.

    Ubuntu is great,and the fact that Mepis has included the Ubuntu pool is awesome. I wonder if Freespire will ever consider this too.


Leave a Reply

